My tryst with fiction…

My magical world ….

I’ve been in love with stories from the time I can remember,…. thanks to my parents who’ve always found innovative ways to put me to sleep when I was a toddler and.. bedtime stories worked perfectly well🙃

It’s often said habits once formed are hard to break maybe that’s why fiction is still my first love❣ .

Some say fiction is a waste of time but I personally feel it’s the best way to spend your me time.

Here’s why I think fiction is the best and why you might consider trying it as well..

We’ve all grown up with it !!

Yuval Noah Harari has famously said that Humans think in stories rather than in facts, numbers, or equations, and the simpler the story, the better…meaning storytelling and listening is the essence of our very nature of being human!!

And we all grew up with it….I guess most of you can relate with this…being told god made you when you were too young to understand reproduction or…. when you were told Adam and Eve or Brahma story at an age you couldn’t comprehend Darwin’s theory of evolution 😊…and the list goes on….

We are all good at making stories….

If you don’t agree with the above, try spending some time with a 6 year old ,you’ll become an expert 😜. In my case my bedtime stories revolved around 2 spiders and the day to day happenings in our home would become the spider tale of that night …© all rights reserved to my dad 🙃.

Fiction makes you empathatic

I vividly remember the study holidays before 10th board exam….it was around 10PM ,and my parents were fast asleep (or I presumed so), I was sitting teary eyed staring at the last few pages of the book…probably I sobbed too loudly that my dad came in concerned “what happened “…I was holding the 3rd book of Shiva trilogy series the oath of vayuputras by Amish ….and one of the protagonist sati had died I couldn’t help weeping 😭(not something a parent would expect you to do before the boards😜)

And this is what fiction does to you….you become one with the character and soon …words make you forget the world ….and that’s a good thing IMO for you’ll become better at understanding emotions of others..

Accessible and affordable source of entertainment …

…➕lower strain on eyes compared to Netflix 🙃…➕  positive spillover effects like improved vocabulary…

Best way to spend your time during the pandemic …

Forget the outside world of uncertainties, get a steaming expresso ☕ and your favorite book…smell it ,feel it , read ….and dissapear from this world.

Wisdom in a book…

Maktub,” she said. “If I am really a part of your dream, you’ll come back one day.” “If what one finds is made of pure matter, it will never spoil. And one can always come back.
The darkest places in hell are reserved for those who maintain their neutrality in times of moral crisis. For Langdon, the meaning of these words had never felt so clear: In dangerous times, there is no sin greater than inaction.

While books like Orgin can make you more rational and give you better perspective, Alchemist might make you do something similar to what Rudyard Kipling wrote in his If :

“…..If you can make one heap of all your winnings
    And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
And lose, and start again at your beginnings
    And never breathe a word about your loss;
If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew……..”

Travel places ,add some adventure to your life even when you have to stay where you are.

That’s my top 6 reasons why you need to include reel stories in your pre-bed routine to help you in your real world. (Yup..6 is my favorite number for it helps you see the other side ...whether you see a 6 or 9 depends on the direction from which you chose to look🙃…perspective matters)

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑